Let’s get fit: a second beginning

Remember my “after hours series” where I would vent and express my emotional distraught almost every night? (I think it was more like, once a week but you get the idea here) Well, I’m going to start anew and do this series instead called “let’s get fit” and I’m so excited to do this.

So here it is, my second beginning. My true beginning was in January 2020 when I decided to take up yoga twice a day and eat a healthy diet. Transforming into resistance training I bought a gym membership of February 2021 and I’ve been going almost every day since. I average 4-5 times a week working out for almost 2 hours every time (if I can manage the time) So what do I mean by “second beginning”? I’m documenting everything now. My journey starts for real as I go full candid into everything I do now and I’m so excited because my husband is going to help me through it all.

I mentioned before how I was finding so many reasons to “not” document my weight loss/fitness journey and I see now that was so selfish of me. I’ve talked about how influencers didn’t do anything justice when it came to being candid- especially about fitness. I haven’t found many people yet that sport their daily lives WHILE losing weight… it’s always been people that are already at their goal and or fitness/personal trainers. Kind of over it at this point. And I think I can do it better.

Today I recorded footage of what I do at night after the gym and my husband and I bonded well over it. I think it’s also inspired him to be more open and use his own personality to his advantage. (I’m so proud of him and I can’t wait for his own transformation)

If you recalled a previous post called “Monday Weight in” this was a half assed attempt to “start” creating content so today I have some legit photos and another TikTok video for you guys!

After todays workout I felt a lot of relief. I went in depressed, unmotivated, and not wanting to do anything- ultimately just wanting to wallow in all of the negativity that’s been going on in my life. But I knew better. I knew that if I did that it would open up bad habits and I would let them. Being in a bad headspace is the worst but I hope this helps someone. If you learn anything from me it’s that you are responsible for you. Everything you do is a reflection of YOU. And I knew better- I knew I couldn’t have a day like this because I’ve had many days where I didn’t want to do anything… what was alarming was how I didn’t want to workout. Here is the tiktok video I recorded before heading into the gym. It was dark, humid, and drizzling outside of my car. The “Planet Fitness” sign a pecan, calling me inside.

I didn’t have any intention of doing anything… like I didn’t have any drive to take photos let some record a video but I had this fire in me after shredding at the gym. I just knew. I knew I had to keep being accountable for my ideas and goals and I didn’t even realize that.

Oh man- I did not mean for this to happen. A duet?? With myself??? I feel so awkward. I hope to have quality content but we all start somewhere. I wanted to make fun of myself in my duet- because it’s true! Who the hell is that person?? I KNOW better! I KNOW the gym will lift me up. I know that sweating will remind me that I’m alive. I know that every two will give me strength to overcome my obstacles. It was all mental and I hate that I was that girl again. A pathetic girl.

So here it is. My official coming out party for my weight loss journey. I can’t wait to see how far I’ve come with everything I do.

Leave a comment