Thank you, Abstract.

To the people that put together the show ‘Abstract’ on Netflix, thank you. And if you are an artist, designer, or creator in any way I recommend watching this show. If I’m not mistaken you can also watch it on Youtube here. It covers some of the top designs in the field of graphic design, interior design, architecture, photography, and show design.

Which leads me to the topic here. I was so inspired by Tinker Hatfields story that I, for the first time, actually wrote down quotes from a show. I was so inspired, so moved, so touched, that I couldn’t think straight. I was enlightened that I felt like I was flying. As a novice graphic designer- a student about to graduate in the summer of 2022, I’m terrified yet excited for whats to come.

Here is an exercise I did today in Tinker’s honor and my favorite quote he gave us in the episode.

I think if you just stay in your studio and try and dream up new ideas,
there’s not a good foundation for your idea.
Just get out there and experience life. That just gives you the library in your head to then translate that into unique new design work. “
– Tinker Hatfield

I didn’t need to put the whole quote so I think the first bit was enough. Here is my edit in his honor.

Tinker Hatfield

It’s designed as a 16×20 size if you are interested in printing out the poster. I used a youtube tutorial for this exercise which you can find here.

Leave a comment